On the D

Bibek's take on people, places and everthing in between

Archive for March 14th, 2010

Nepali Runway

leave a comment »

Last night, for the first time, I attended a Nepali runway show. As a part of my job, I along with my friend, had to cover the 12th IEC Designer Contest 2010.

And during the entire two-hour show, during each of the 138 designs displayed, I was sitting, taking notes and thinking what to write. Well, I ain’t a fashion commentator or was there to review the show. So just an update of the event!

But so as to speak, the designs were a disaster. I don’t know what went wrong–some of the designers had a lot of potential, it looked like it. But they lacked on a lot of levels: creativity, execution of their designs, style…I think one can go on and on about it. Most of the designs, though there were 138, looked duplicated. Did the designers sit in one room and brainstormed?

And what was up with dresses with stupid themes. I mean, they were trying to give a message through their creations but c’mon, just try to be a little more effective and put a little more effort. A dress with condoms stuck around…they weren’t even stuck properly and they fell on the ramp! Dress with message against ethnic federalism in Nepal that was so yucky that we couldn’t stop laughing. And there are just too many to comment but….

So, what goes wrong in these contests that are very hyped but no result. I think there is a lack of understanding in what fashion really is. They were students at one of Nepal’s reputed fashion designing schools but didn’t seem like it. Or maybe it’s the themes set for the evening that made their constrained to what they had to do. But even if they were constrained, they could have delivered their best apart from the limitations.

Anyways, I can’t ramble about them since I ain’t a pro in the topic.

It was my first time to peek into the Nepali fashion scene and I didn’t quite enjoy the view. Maybe in coming times, there will be a slight progress. The Nepal Fashion Week…maybe I can go again for another view.

Written by Bibek

March 14, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with